Kwok Scholars Association

Kwok Scholars Association Limited was incorporated in Hong Kong on 3rd April 2014 and is a tax-exempt charitable organisation under section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance of Hong Kong.

Aims and activities
The aim of the Association is the promotion and advancement of education. It works closely with the Walter & Wendy Kwok Family Foundation on the Kwok Scholarship Programme through which financial assistance is provided to Chinese students from Hong Kong and Mainland China who wish to undertake university studies in furtherance of their commitment to public service and are in need of financial assistance in order to be able to do so.

In addition to being of strong academic ability, Kwok Scholars will demonstrate a commitment to public service, the intention to use their studies to further those interests and their need for financial assistance in order to be able to take up their offer of a place at university.

In identifying and supporting talented, energetic and academically-strong individuals with a strong personal mission, and enabling them to gain a formidable educational foundation to help achieve their goals, the Kwok Scholarships seek to recognise the value to society of a career in and a passion for public service work.

The Kwok Scholarship Programme currently extends to providing:

  • up to two scholarships a year for master’s programmes at the University of Oxford;
  • up to two scholarships a year for undergraduate programmes at the University of Oxford;
  • one scholarship a year for the Master in Public Policy in Global Affairs at the Jackson School of Global Affairs, Yale University; and
  • up to two awards a year for hospitality study at Cornell University's Nolan School of Hotel Administration

The Association also seeks to be of benefit to the Hong Kong community and the well-being of the people of China as a whole through building and sustaining a network of Kwok Scholars, past and present, committed to the development, advancement and improvement of public service and good citizenship.

Directors and Advisers
The Association's Board of Directors is composed of:
      Wendy KWOK Lee Tin Wing
      Geoffrey KWOK Kai Chun
      Lesley KWOK Wai San
      Jonathan KWOK Kai Ho
      Christopher DRAKE
      Irene YAU Lee Che Yun

The Association has an International Board of Advisers comprising:
      Honorary Professor John BURNS - the University of Hong Kong
      Professor Andrew HAMILTON – President of New York University
      Ambrose Hon-chuen LAU, GBS, JP
      Stephen ROACH - Senior Fellow at Paul Tsai China Center of the Yale Law School
      Professor Ngaire WOODS – Dean of the Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford